Blog·Boeken

The Night Fox

Title: The Night Fox
Author: Ashley Wilda
Publisher: Penguin Teen
Price: €21,79 (hardcover), €11,- (e-book)
Pages: 337
Stars: ★★★★★

[this blog will be in English, since it’s an English book and I got the eARC as a review book. Thanks again so much Ashley for reaching out to me!]

Wow, this book had absolutely blown me away and I think the Author’s Note at the end made me tear up most. This book was truely so magical and beautiful and I found it hard to find the right words to speak about this book.

Eli and Gale have found their ways to my heart from the very beginning. Eli is dealing with a huge heartbreak and that has cost het her mental health. She is not in a good place, so her mom decides to bring her to Raeth. And this place changes everything for her. On a wonderful journey, wandering through the magical landschapes of Raeth, Eli discovers herself again- sometimes even in a literal way. There are tough challenges, but bit by bit she figures that there are still people out there who care for her and that she must hold on to that – but mostly to herself.

Ashley’s writing style is magnificent. I’ve never seen a book before that starts with a little poetry before every chapter, and it fits Eli and the story so well. Through the poems, we get to know her past – what happened to her and ‘you’. Through the chapters, we travel with her through Raeth and her journey to… I don’t know, forgiving and living with herself again, I would say.

This is a book I would have wanted to read during my heartbreaks, but also at tough moments – like I do have now and then. It gives the hope we need and speaks about mental health in the most beautiful and accepting way. I love Eli and her story and journey back to herself, and I was also so happy with the ending and getting to know Gale. I wish I could learn more about him too. He deserves his story too (who knows? hint hint, please? haha).

Please do read this, get to know the Night Fox, get to know Eli. I hope you will pick up this book and let it find a way to your heart, the way it did to mine.

Plaats een reactie